Advertisements:




Aero Peek / Title Preview Not Disappearing


I have following problem with windows 7: i have firefox opened. I hover mouse over task bar and window preview start displaying with window titles. I do not click at them, i click again into firefox window. Usually this results into latest taskbar application i hovered have its title displayed for around 5 seconds, then disappearing, and this application have its bar highlighted with main icon color (which is also not what i want). But sometimes window previews from latest hovered window just do not disappear until i press some keyboard button in firefox. This is quite annoying for me. Is this how it supposed to work? I expect taskbar to stop any highlighting and hide any preview windows when i click into main application window. I have latest drivers and fully updated system if that helps.

View Full Post With 2 Replies

Related Forum Messages:

Please Follow Index to Quick Jump to the Message.


Aero Peek Window Preview Flickering

Aero peek window previews flickering and when displayed not allowing window selection. When i hover my mouse over any of the icons in the task bar a lot of the time it will not display the aero peek previews for the windows. When it does it usually flickers for a few seconds then doesn't show up. The odd time it does stay visible it will allow me to preview the windows by bringing them to the foreground by hovering my mouse over one of the thumbnail windows but when i click to select a window it goes back to the one i was on previously.

In the case of multiple windows of the same type for instance say firefox and the download manager in firefox clicking on the firefox icon on the task bar does nothing until i navigate to and close one of the two windows manually. This has become a major problem with my day to day use of my computer so much so in fact that i have gone back to using linux mint for most of my day to day computing as it doesn't take me inordinate amounts of time to navigate between windows.


Posted On: 2010-01-08 . View Related Posts . . View 11 Replies .

Aero Peek Not Working

Aero peek is not working! When i put my mouse over the taskbar at the bottom of my computer it just shows the words and not the smaller window icon. When i go to taskbar properties it's gray and i can't enable or disable it. I've read a few of the other peoples questions on here and i wasn't aware that office 2007 could be part of the problem. I have office 2010 could that be the problem? This aero peek was one of the features that windows bragged about and now it doesn't work? I'm not happy about this and no one seems to have a solution for it! Why not?

Posted On: 2010-06-30 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Peek Problem

I am using win7 32 bit home premium. Everything has worked beautifully and all of the sudden when say i have multiple ie screens open as well as other aps and i hover over an icon in the task bar it will not show the pop up of the window. Also, i can not open that window. I have to start minimizing everything on top of it to see or close it. This all started when i installed a driver update for my touch pad and the touchpad and keyboard quit working. I took my laptop to the repair shop and noticed these problems after getting it back.

Posted On: 2010-05-20 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero - Peek Feature Disabled

The peek at desktop function on the taskbar is grayed-out. The peek at desktop checkbox in the taskbar and start menu properties is checked, but also grayed-out. In system properties, performance options dialog box, everything is checked except save taskbar thumbnail previews. I ran the aero troubleshooter and it returned a result of no problems detected. Obviously there is a disconnect elsewhere. I am using windows 7 pro, 64-bit, with an hp pavilion elite hpe-180t desktop. Any suggestions?

Posted On: 2010-06-16 . View Related Posts . . View 6 Replies .

Aero Peek / Tooltips Not Working

Don't think any changes were made between the time they were working and the time they were not. I could be wrong, though. If i am using a program and i move my mouse over to the taskbar and mouse over another program i have running the preview is displayed only briefly (on the order of milliseconds). If i click the taskbar first, then hover over an icon the preview is displayed correctly and if i mouse over the preview the window is brought to the front. However, if i click the preview the program is only sporadically brought to the front.

I also noticed that alt-tab is not working correctly either. When i hit alt-tab the selection menu is again only flashed on screen even while holding alt. I also noticed that tooltips are not working in any program either, unless i have clicked the taskbar then mouse over the tool tip in an open window. They are doing the same thing. When i mouse over a tooltip it flashed briefly, not even enough time to read it. Thought maybe it could be a mouse or keyboard problem, switched them both out, still no fix.

Restarting computer doesn't fix it. Already ran the troubleshooter and no problems were found. Did a system restore to before the problems were there but that did not solve the issue either. Checked performance settings and everything is enabled. Like i said earlier i can't think of anything that was changed between the time when it was working and the time that it was not. I literally got up from my computer, sat down in another chair in my office, read a book for a couple hours, came back and it did not work.


Posted On: 2010-01-15 . View Related Posts . . View 8 Replies .

Force Aero Tab Preview, Transparency

I am running windows 7 ultimate with dual-monitors and a high-end video card that is aero-capable. However, i run an additional monitor for background work that is connected to my computer viaa usb to vga converter. Upon connecting the converter aero tab preview, transparency and peek go away. I would like to have those aero features enabled, at least on the main monitors, with the usb to vga converter attached.

Running the aero troubleshooter indicates that wddm session manager was disabled, but corrected that problem (actually the wddm session manager is consistently reported as "started" so i'm not sure what the troubleshooter is telling me). I have read in other forums about a registry modification method (adding dwords to hkey_current_usersoftwaremicrosoftwindowsdwm) but this does not work.contacting the manufacturer of the converter, siig, did not result in any solutions.

So i am hoping that you can suggest amethod to force aero tab preview, transparency and peek even if the usb to vga converter does not meet aero hardware requirements.


Posted On: 2010-01-11 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Taskbar Thumbnails Not Displaying Preview

I recently purchased a new laptop with windows 7 running on windows 64-bit os. For some of the applications, the thumbnail previews on the taskbar work great (outlook, ie 8), but others do not. Whenever i open more than one file in an application, the thumbnail display only shows a rectangle with that application's logo in the middle of the box. Can anyone help me understand why this feature works for some applications, but not others, and how to fix this? I've tried all the standard remedies (choosing aero theme, etc. ) To no avail.

Posted On: 2010-01-27 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Taskbar Aero Peek Not Working On Excel 2007

I'm having problems with aero peek for open windows on the task bar. Functionality works correctly for word 2007 but doesn't work for excel 2007. When you hover over excel icon on taskbar popup correctly show icons for open windows with titles but shows generic icon only - not preview of window. When you move over icon then excel window doesn't popup - only when you click on it.

I've tried using aero peek troubleshooter but doesn't find any problems. I've tried excel advance option for 'show all windows' but this doesn't affect problem either. Any suggestions advice appreciated. (Os windows 7 professional 64 bit - was clean install not upgrade)


Posted On: 2010-01-22 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Aero Peek Stopped Working For Office Excel

Aero peek was working fine on all my office 2007 products, and every other product / programme. Suddenly about 3 days ago the aero peek stopped working only for office excel 2007. There is no content in the preview (just all grey, blanked out) when you open up more than one excel window at the same time. When you close one, or all there is still no preview, even when you close all windows and are left with a single one.

The only time the aero peek works normal in excel is when you open up excel for the first time and only with that window. After that when you open up an additional window you encounter the above described problem. I have tried everything, going through all steps on the windows help menu, and the windows forums but nothing has helped.


Posted On: 2010-07-13 . View Related Posts . . View 5 Replies .

Taskbar Aero Peek Stops Other Windows From Minimising

In the uk the bbc offer playback of tv progs via iplayer. On some you can do this via a pop up player which opens up a new window on the screen and then plays the program. With vista this window stayed on the screen you had open and you could drag it around so you could continue to work on whatever you were doing - you could have 2/3 open windows - but with w7 within a matter of seconds it has dropped to the taskbar and there is no way i can see that you can 'force' it to stay open and on top of the original window.

Posted On: 2010-02-04 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Peek Disables Every Time Software Update

Graphics card: ati radeon hd 4670 from asus. Driver version installed: 8. 703 released i believe 02/10. Every single time i do a software update, it doesn't matter whether it is a windows update or other software, the driver version rolls back to 8. 632. 1. 2000 released 08/09, which is a generic driver for the ati 4600 series and does not support aero peek. Subsequently aero peek becomes disabled as a feature. I have tried and had no luck with the following to get aero peek to work when this occurs.

1. Driver update in device manager with the result being "current driver is the latest version"

2. Disabling and enabling the device in device manager with a reboot.

3. Running "setup" from the driver update i have downloaded, with a reboot.

In all cases the result is the feature does not work and the check box to turn it on is grayed out.
The only thing that works is to uninstall the driver and software in the device manager then reboot the computer and allow windows to find the "new device". I then have to reboot the computer again to get it working. With software updates every three days this is a huge pain. I contacted the device mfg and the best they could do was send me to an updated driver. No luck. I feel this is a issue with windows as something is causing the rollback, and then not allowing an update. Any ideas or solutions would be great.


Posted On: 2010-04-23 . View Related Posts . . View 5 Replies .

Areo Preview Has Disappeared

My aero preview has disappeared. How do i get it back?

Posted On: 2010-01-17 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Taskbar Icon Preview Problems

I've got a problem with the w7 taskbar and i will try to explain it with an example. Let's say i have two folders open, a couple of docs, and 3-4 websites. Now if i do not remember which websites i have opened, i might just point the arrow to the internet explorer icon to see a preview. At that point the thumbnails should appear and stay fixed until i move somewhere else. In my case the preview lats for less than one second, they then disappear.

If i try again the preview will give the same result, just a short flash. As far as i know, as i have more that one pc with w7, when the arrow is on the icon, the aero preview should remain fixed, so i'll have time to decide which window i want to open and which i want to close. Unfortunately, now i cannot do that as the short flash/preview doesn't give me time to do anything, not even to understand what i have opened.
That of course does happen with all the icon in the taskbar.
I tried the troubleshooter, but without any success. Have you got any other solution in mind?
Many thanks for your help.


Posted On: 2010-04-02 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Upgrading From Preview Version Of Win7

I have two computers at home that are running the preview version of windows 7. I know that the shutdown window is approaching, so i'm trying to plan to upgrade these two machines to licensed versions.

My question is this: can i buy the upgrade for each machine? The circumstances for each are as follows: my laptop came with vista pre-installed. I have the key for vista, but the manufacturer did not provide a cd with the computer, so i have no disc to insert during the installation process to verify that i am entitled to an upgrade. The other computer is a self-built desktop for which i have both the cd and key for windows xp.

I guess my question really boils down to this: how does the upgrade installation for windows 7 verify that i am entitled to the upgrade version? Or does the fact that i'll be applying the upgrade over an in-place w7 preview installation even bother checking for a previous version for eligibility?


Posted On: 2010-01-15 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

No Preview Thumbnails For Avi Files

I'm using 64 bit windows 7. I'm creating some avi animations with the ultra fractal fractal exploration software. These avi files don't show thumbnail preview images in windows explorer, they just show a default image of a piece of film. It seems that if i edit my avi file into a wmv movie file using windows live movie maker, then i do see thumbnail images for the source avi files in windows explorer from then on. But i'd like to see the previews by default. Note that i do see preview thumbnails for most (but not all) files that are in the quicktime mov format. And i do see preview thumnails for all files in the mpg format. But not for the avi files.

Posted On: 2010-04-16 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Script Error - Ieframe.dll/preview.js

Each time i try to print i receive the error message:

Internet explorer script error: an error has occur ed in the script on this page
Line: 2032
Char: 1
Error: unspecified error
Code: 0
Url: res://ieframe.dll/preview.js

I am running ie8 on windows vista 32 bit. I've already tried the solutions i found listed in the answer forum. In addition, i've tried uninstalling & reinstalling, ie8, my printer, and the print drivers. I have been using ie8 for quite some time now & can't account for the recent trouble i'm having. Any suggestions?


Posted On: 2010-04-03 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Print Preview Error - Printing To Adobe Pdf

Print preview error - occurs when printing to adobe pdf print driver. I purchased a new computer with windows 7 pro. When i try to print a web page (ie 8) using print preview, "as selected on screen", shrink to 85%, then print to adobe pdf print driver, the ie 8 page got stuck. So i have to end task it all the time.
 
However, if i try it with different browsers, it prints with no problem. I tried sfc /scannow, checkdisk, disabling add-on programs, but did not work. Add/remove programs does not show ie 8, so i can not uninstall/reinstall it. Is there any way to install ie 8 fresh on windows 7 pro?


Posted On: 2010-06-22 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Disappearing Drive

I am running windows 7 -64 bit professional
The system boots off a 10k velociraptor

I also have a raid 5 set up for my data through a silicon image sil 3124 running in one of the spare pci-e slots. It comes on just fine (as drive d). Frequently, usually after the system has gone to sleep, the drive just plain disappears. I have to reboot to bring it back to life on the system. Two questions; toward the same end.

1) how do i get it to stop disappearing?
2) how do i get windows 7 from going to sleep? Ive messed round with the power options in the control panel and ive come to the conclusion that windows 7 -64 bit is narcoleptic.


Posted On: 2010-02-11 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Disappearing Programs

I have yet been able to regularly duplicate this problem, but it seems to happen to me at least once a day. I did a clean install of w7rc on a fresh hard drive and everything installed fine. However, occasionally i will click a program on my task bar and it will way it's not there and ask me if i want to delete the shortcut. If i go to the start bar, there are no programs and the only thing i can do it shut down. I'm uncertain if microsoft is finding this issue as i receive no apparent error. Upon rebooting, everything is fine. Like i said, i don't know how to reproduce it as it seems to have no trend towards doing a specific operation, but it seems to happen to me at least once a day.

Posted On: 2009-06-04 . View Related Posts . . View 10 Replies .

Disappearing Icons

I have an hp touchsmart duo computer, windows vista home premium 64-bit, microsoft office 2007
I have a task/toolbar (not sure which) on the bottom right of my screen that used to have icons for the programmes i was running such as my mouse, keyboard (told me when batteries running low) internet access, external hardware attached etc. , But it has just stopped loading, the only icon still coming up is my norton. I do not know why it is temperamental, and i do not know how it decides what to show or hide, or when or why?


Posted On: 2010-02-06 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Why Are My Files Disappearing?

Lately i have been having problems with my files disappearing and then reappearing. I'll type up a word document and save it in a specific folder. When i go back to look for it in said folder it is not there. I try to search for it and it is no where in the library. I also try to rearrange the folder in a different ways to find the file. Alas, it still does not show up. The way i have to find it is to go into word and hope that the document is in the recently opened documents. If not, i am
Screwed and have to wait for it to magically show up again. Does any one know what my problem is and how to fix it?


Posted On: 2010-04-17 . View Related Posts . . View 9 Replies .

Disappearing Mouse Pointer

After a while of using my laptop, my mouse pointer gets uncontrollable for a few seconds. After it starts disappearing or moving objects, maximizing and minimizing for a few seconds it (sometimes) goes back to normal for about a minute and starts acting erratic again. This will go on for hours or until i get frustrated and shut down my system. Is this happening with any other users. If so please tell me how to fix this problem, i am tired of losing unsaved data. I lost seven chapters the other night.

Posted On: 2010-04-29 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Microsoft Games Keep Disappearing

Some of my microsoft games (e.g, freecell, solitaire, etc. ) Periodically disappear from my desktop - usually after the computer wakes from sleep mode. When that happens, i also cannot open them from the control panel. I've noticed that others seem to have this problem too. I've tried the check/unchecked games trick discussed in the forums. This doesn't work. I've been able to use the system restore, but it is tedious to keep doing that and i'm afraid that i might lose some programs or work one time doing that. I've run anti-spyware and anti-virus programs but they haven't found anything. Anyone have any suggestions?

Posted On: 2010-08-09 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Disappearing Address Book

Went into windows live mail to send an email and all my addresses had disappeared. Gone.zip. Found them in a folder on the computer. Reinstalled them in windows live again only to have them move 4 more times. The contacts stay in windows mail for a few days then zip. Gone and i have to reinstall them again. And this morning i got a pop up that said sticky notes weren't working, ms didn't know why, and they would get back to me when they found a solution. I'm already old. I don't know how much more time i have. These little glitches are enough to turn me into a mac person.

Posted On: 2010-02-09 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Cd/dvd Drive Disappearing / Vanishing

Will the new windows 7 address and fix the problem of the "vanishing" cd/dvd drive? In windows vista my cd/dvd drive keeps disappearing and i keep having to put the sqlite3.dll driver back into the system32 folder and then restart to make it reappear and work again.

Posted On: 2009-10-14 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Dvd Drive Disappearing Problem

On 2 laptops - almost identical dell inspiron 1545's - i have installed w7 rc 64 bit - after installation, the dvd drive seems to come and go at random - if its not showing, you can push the button to open the drive, and it reappears, and works fine for a while, but then it disappears again.

One one machine, i tried all of the suggestions about removing uperfilters, and lowerfilters, etc from the registry, disabled the integrity check, and turned off the driver check - have done all driver updates, and windows updates - now the drive works fine!

On machine 2 - did exactly the same things - drive still having this issue. I have also tried installed 32 bit w7 on it, and same thing. It originally came with vista - and it worked fine. Also, i know the drive is good - if it can boot and install windows 7 twice! Any thoughts/advice would be welcome!


Posted On: 2009-07-20 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Files Disappearing From Recycle Bin

I have had this computer since christmas, and i love it. I have windows 7 and everything has worked perfectly up until i got connected to the internet in late april and so far it has been one problem after another. And that leads me to my latest frustration. Files that i have deleted to the recycle bin have disappeared. And i did not permanently delete then!So far i have not lost anything of major importance, except for some photos, but, that's not even a disaster.

However, i'm now afraid to delete anything, for fear that i would not be able to restore the item if i needed it. Fter losing a handful of files from the recycle bin, i did an experiment:  i purposely deleted some items/folders that were empty or contained stuff that i absolutely didn't need. I checked the recycle bin every day and for a while my deleted files were still in the recycle bin. Now, today. They're gone! 

The only thing i did out of the ordinary was download an update for adobe reader. That shouldn't have any affect on what happens to the contents of the recycle bin - or would it?So, i really would like to know why this is happening. Alice bb**** as of today, june 22/10, i have tried your suggestion azeez n. As well as others from related topics and still files disappear from recycle bin.

Now, here's a detailed account of events leading up to the files disappearing from the bin, all from today. Checked my email. Created 2 unimportant word files and then deleted them to the recycle bin. Bell program did a scheduled anti-virus scan.completed. All ok. Opened action center, recycle bin  empty! Windows defender recommended a scan. Normal. Created 3 more unimportant word files and deleted them to the recycle bin.

Went to favorites clicked on microsoft answers, recycle bin empty again!Created 2 more unimportant word files and deleted them to the recycle bin. Signed in to windows mail;  checked mail;  signed out. Selected microsoft answers from favorites; checked my threads; checked some related questions; signed out. Java update notice popped up on screen. Allowed it to download. Bell internet security notice popped up saying it had found and deleted a virus and recommended an immediate scan to see if there were any further infections.

Did deep scan at 98% complete. Recycle bin empty again!Scan completed. All ok. All these instances happened in one day, today. What is happening? As of june 25/10 the problem still exists. I am almost certain than it only occurs when i am online. I am trying to monitor this more closely and will post the outcome. Sometimes it seems as if the recycle bin is on a timer and just empties on queue. One day it seemed to empty about every hour.

One thing is for certain, i cannot use the recycle bin in it's present operating condition. Can i completely delete the bin and reinstall it?  If so, how? I am just a novice so please excuse me if this is a stupid question.


Posted On: 2010-06-16 . View Related Posts . . View 7 Replies .

Media Player 12 Music Files Disappearing

For valentines day hubby built me a new computer and put windows 7 on it, which i am highly starting to regret. Anyhow i put my music i had backed up on my back up drive and it works fine, no problems. Then yesterday i ripped 2 c. D's on to it. I thought everything was fine shut down the computer. Then last night i went to play them and neither of them would show up on my media player, but both were in my music folder.

I deleted them and ripped them again and they showed up on the media player but the second i exit out of the media and go back to it they are gone, vanished, poof. I have tried restore media library and restarted computer come back they load on to the media player i exit out of the player and go back and once again gone. I have tried everything i can think of and still nothing is working and i am getting highly frustrated.


Posted On: 2010-02-27 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Disappearing Buttons Minimize, Size, Close

I installed windows 7 64-bit version a few days ago and i have a problem with minimize, resize, close buttons. When i am opening the new window, browser etc. Buttons are visible, but when i am hover (in fact onmouseout event) they are disappearing. I didn't erase also any drivers, however i installed the newest nvidia graphics driver. It is still the same problem.

http://farm5. Static. Flickr.com/4071/4530833844_e7f488f854_o.jpg
http://farm5. Static. Flickr.com/4063/4530834024_950aea6e3b_o.jpg
http://farm5. Static. Flickr.com/4008/4530202117_934cf8a4fe_o.jpg


Posted On: 2010-04-18 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .