Advertisements:




No Preview Thumbnails For Avi Files


I'm using 64 bit windows 7. I'm creating some avi animations with the ultra fractal fractal exploration software. These avi files don't show thumbnail preview images in windows explorer, they just show a default image of a piece of film. It seems that if i edit my avi file into a wmv movie file using windows live movie maker, then i do see thumbnail images for the source avi files in windows explorer from then on. But i'd like to see the previews by default. Note that i do see preview thumbnails for most (but not all) files that are in the quicktime mov format. And i do see preview thumnails for all files in the mpg format. But not for the avi files.

View Full Post With 3 Replies

Related Forum Messages:

Please Follow Index to Quick Jump to the Message.


Aero Taskbar Thumbnails Not Displaying Preview

I recently purchased a new laptop with windows 7 running on windows 64-bit os. For some of the applications, the thumbnail previews on the taskbar work great (outlook, ie 8), but others do not. Whenever i open more than one file in an application, the thumbnail display only shows a rectangle with that application's logo in the middle of the box. Can anyone help me understand why this feature works for some applications, but not others, and how to fix this? I've tried all the standard remedies (choosing aero theme, etc. ) To no avail.

Posted On: 2010-01-27 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Dvd Maker Avi Files Corrupt

I have just found out about windows dvd maker and decided to give it a go. I tried to insert a file and found out it wouldn't allow me to select an mp4 so i decided to render each scene of my dvd into avi format instead of mp4 but as soon as i try and select them i get this error message:

"0 files were successfully added. 1 file could not be added. The file c:usersedwarddesktopuntitled. Avi is not a supported file type and cannot be imported. "

I installed a codec to try and get it to work but previous to this it came up with a similar error saying that the file might be corrupt.

What can i do as its really annoying me :( i have rendered the video as a wmv and it works but it annoys me because it isn't as good quality as the avi that i rendered.


Posted On: 2010-05-03 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Wmp 12 .avi File Shows Picture Ok But With No Sound

Im using windows 7 ultimate x86 and windows media player 12. All software are up to date. No wmp setting were touched by me. And, i'm not using any third-party codecs. The problem is when i open an some . Vi video film with wmp or windows media center the picture goes ok and no sound i hear; in the left bottom corner of wmp window the dolby logo is displayed. When i opening this film with winamp - the same problem. But, when i opening it with media player classic - the sound and video is ok. I dont want use this deprecated media player classic to watch all my films. So my question is what the h3ll is going on and what can i do to eliminate this problem. Digging thru the microsoft help didn't give any results. In this file's properties under the audio i see: 48khz, 448kbps, 6 channels

Posted On: 2010-07-24 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

How To Assign A Thumbnail Image To .avi Movie File In Media Center?

How do i assign a thumbnail image to an . Avi file to show up in "movies" section? When i go to the "movies" screen in windows media center, the files are designated with a plain colored box with the title of the movie, and that's it. I know there is a way to assign an image to the movie, just like media center shows the album covers when i go to my music library. I cannot figure it out. There is no field for an image in the metadata, and i have tried putting a .jpg with the same name as the movie title and that has not worked either. Can anyone help?

Posted On: 2009-10-31 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Video Thumbnails

I am running a gateway nv52 computer that originally was installed with windows vista x64. I received a free upgrade to windows 7 x64. Now that i am running windows 7 i noticed that none of my video files' thumbnails are appearing only the icons. I have tried several things to fix this:

1. ) Running sfc /scannow

2. ) Deleting thumbnails (disk cleanup)

3. ) All options are correct within folder options ( display icon files on thumbnails on; always use icons, never thumbnails off)

I also had a problem with the preview pane within explorer. I used a program called previewconfig to fix this and now it [preview pane] works fine. However i still have the issue with the thumbnails.


Posted On: 2010-05-23 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Aero Thumbnails Not Working

I am using windows 7 home premium with the latest updates. My task bar thumbnails have stopped working. First of all, my computer locked up, and upon restarting, all my desktop icons were gone. My computer is only a couple of months old, so i called hp tech support. They did remote access and we did a restore point. Desktop icons are back. While picking a restore point i noticed there was a critical update on april 10 and my problem started on april 11.

Anyway, i found this website and got to thinking maybe i should have called microsoft instead of hp. I ran the aero trouble shooter and it can't fix the problem. I got the message "close programs using mirror drivers", and mentions windows remote assistance. I don't have any programs open except ie8 and i unchecked "allow remote assistance", but still no thumbnails. Any suggestions?


Posted On: 2010-04-16 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Internet Site Thumbnails

My new dell computer came loaded with windows 7. I am using internet explorer as my browser. When i first started using this computer, i set the mouse over the internet explorer symbol on the bottom left of the screen all of the internet sites i was currently logged into would appear above the symbol as a thumbnail of the particular page i was on. Somehow that has disappear and now what i get instead of a thumbnail, i get a sentence description of the page. How can i get back to view thumbnails?

Posted On: 2010-05-01 . View Related Posts . . View 10 Replies .

Aero Thumbnails Stopped Working

My task bar thumbnails have stopped working and i get the message "close programs using mirror drivers", one of those being windows remote assistance. I only have ie8 open, and i unchecked the "allow remote assistance" box. I did have remote assistance a couple of days ago, with hp, but i didn't find any programs installed on that date. I did a restore point, with hp, and noticed there was a critical update on april 10. My problem started on april 11 when all my desktop icons disappeared. They are back now, but i do miss the taskbar icons. Any suggestions?

Posted On: 2010-04-16 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Icons And Thumbnails Have Turned To Generic

When i click on a link to send an e-mail, it won't send without clicking "sync" which is hard to find
This is about the 10th problem i've had with windows 7. None of which have been able to be solves, waiting 6 months. Would like to know if there is someone at microsoft to help me. I can't get these solved through the forum. Mostly involving icons, all turned generic, thumbnails in my pic file, all turned generic. I would like to have vista back.


Posted On: 2010-07-14 . View Related Posts . . View 6 Replies .

Areo Preview Has Disappeared

My aero preview has disappeared. How do i get it back?

Posted On: 2010-01-17 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Taskbar Icon Preview Problems

I've got a problem with the w7 taskbar and i will try to explain it with an example. Let's say i have two folders open, a couple of docs, and 3-4 websites. Now if i do not remember which websites i have opened, i might just point the arrow to the internet explorer icon to see a preview. At that point the thumbnails should appear and stay fixed until i move somewhere else. In my case the preview lats for less than one second, they then disappear.

If i try again the preview will give the same result, just a short flash. As far as i know, as i have more that one pc with w7, when the arrow is on the icon, the aero preview should remain fixed, so i'll have time to decide which window i want to open and which i want to close. Unfortunately, now i cannot do that as the short flash/preview doesn't give me time to do anything, not even to understand what i have opened.
That of course does happen with all the icon in the taskbar.
I tried the troubleshooter, but without any success. Have you got any other solution in mind?
Many thanks for your help.


Posted On: 2010-04-02 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Upgrading From Preview Version Of Win7

I have two computers at home that are running the preview version of windows 7. I know that the shutdown window is approaching, so i'm trying to plan to upgrade these two machines to licensed versions.

My question is this: can i buy the upgrade for each machine? The circumstances for each are as follows: my laptop came with vista pre-installed. I have the key for vista, but the manufacturer did not provide a cd with the computer, so i have no disc to insert during the installation process to verify that i am entitled to an upgrade. The other computer is a self-built desktop for which i have both the cd and key for windows xp.

I guess my question really boils down to this: how does the upgrade installation for windows 7 verify that i am entitled to the upgrade version? Or does the fact that i'll be applying the upgrade over an in-place w7 preview installation even bother checking for a previous version for eligibility?


Posted On: 2010-01-15 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Script Error - Ieframe.dll/preview.js

Each time i try to print i receive the error message:

Internet explorer script error: an error has occur ed in the script on this page
Line: 2032
Char: 1
Error: unspecified error
Code: 0
Url: res://ieframe.dll/preview.js

I am running ie8 on windows vista 32 bit. I've already tried the solutions i found listed in the answer forum. In addition, i've tried uninstalling & reinstalling, ie8, my printer, and the print drivers. I have been using ie8 for quite some time now & can't account for the recent trouble i'm having. Any suggestions?


Posted On: 2010-04-03 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Force Aero Tab Preview, Transparency

I am running windows 7 ultimate with dual-monitors and a high-end video card that is aero-capable. However, i run an additional monitor for background work that is connected to my computer viaa usb to vga converter. Upon connecting the converter aero tab preview, transparency and peek go away. I would like to have those aero features enabled, at least on the main monitors, with the usb to vga converter attached.

Running the aero troubleshooter indicates that wddm session manager was disabled, but corrected that problem (actually the wddm session manager is consistently reported as "started" so i'm not sure what the troubleshooter is telling me). I have read in other forums about a registry modification method (adding dwords to hkey_current_usersoftwaremicrosoftwindowsdwm) but this does not work.contacting the manufacturer of the converter, siig, did not result in any solutions.

So i am hoping that you can suggest amethod to force aero tab preview, transparency and peek even if the usb to vga converter does not meet aero hardware requirements.


Posted On: 2010-01-11 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Peek Window Preview Flickering

Aero peek window previews flickering and when displayed not allowing window selection. When i hover my mouse over any of the icons in the task bar a lot of the time it will not display the aero peek previews for the windows. When it does it usually flickers for a few seconds then doesn't show up. The odd time it does stay visible it will allow me to preview the windows by bringing them to the foreground by hovering my mouse over one of the thumbnail windows but when i click to select a window it goes back to the one i was on previously.

In the case of multiple windows of the same type for instance say firefox and the download manager in firefox clicking on the firefox icon on the task bar does nothing until i navigate to and close one of the two windows manually. This has become a major problem with my day to day use of my computer so much so in fact that i have gone back to using linux mint for most of my day to day computing as it doesn't take me inordinate amounts of time to navigate between windows.


Posted On: 2010-01-08 . View Related Posts . . View 11 Replies .

Aero Peek / Title Preview Not Disappearing

I have following problem with windows 7: i have firefox opened. I hover mouse over task bar and window preview start displaying with window titles. I do not click at them, i click again into firefox window. Usually this results into latest taskbar application i hovered have its title displayed for around 5 seconds, then disappearing, and this application have its bar highlighted with main icon color (which is also not what i want). But sometimes window previews from latest hovered window just do not disappear until i press some keyboard button in firefox. This is quite annoying for me. Is this how it supposed to work? I expect taskbar to stop any highlighting and hide any preview windows when i click into main application window. I have latest drivers and fully updated system if that helps.

Posted On: 2010-03-07 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Print Preview Error - Printing To Adobe Pdf

Print preview error - occurs when printing to adobe pdf print driver. I purchased a new computer with windows 7 pro. When i try to print a web page (ie 8) using print preview, "as selected on screen", shrink to 85%, then print to adobe pdf print driver, the ie 8 page got stuck. So i have to end task it all the time.
 
However, if i try it with different browsers, it prints with no problem. I tried sfc /scannow, checkdisk, disabling add-on programs, but did not work. Add/remove programs does not show ie 8, so i can not uninstall/reinstall it. Is there any way to install ie 8 fresh on windows 7 pro?


Posted On: 2010-06-22 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Unable To View Thumbnails Using Detailed View

I am unable to view thumbnails in windows explorer while i am using detailed view. I only can see them when they are extra large. I can't see them in small, not in list, not in medium, just in extra large. I hate them extra large. I want to view them in detailed view. This is what i have done so far:under folder options/view i "unchecked" the "always show icons never thumbnails".

That did not work. I did go through tons of problems regarding thumbnails in the forums, but could not find a solution to my problem. I am using windows 7 professional 64 bit. I never had a problem with thumbnails in windows xp. Now i am struggling and i want to view my thumbnails again. I just don't know what else i can do. I must be missing something in the settings; but what?


Posted On: 2010-05-23 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Files Send To Dvd-rw Drive On Network Results In Deleted Files

"send to dvd-rw drive" when the source files are on a network drive results in deleted files! Windows 7 rc 7100. Have a mapped drive to another computer. I opened the folder, right clicked on a group of .doc files. I choose "send to dvd-rw drive". Responded to the prompt of "use like usb drive" or use in a cd/dvd player by choosing the 2nd choice. Then was faced with a prompt that filename.doc is no longer in this location cancel/retry/skip. All the files were gone! Not in recycle bin of either computer.

Posted On: 2009-11-23 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Programs Files Vs Program Files (x86)

What is the difference between the "program files" folder & the "program files (x86)" folder, in c drive? Various programs seem split almost equally between the 2, after i upgraded from vista to 7, except that internet explorer is in both, meaning that when i "open with" for a text file i get ie listed twice. Can i move everything to one or other of these & delete the other one? Is one for 64-bit and one for 32-bit programs or something like that?

Posted On: 2010-03-21 . View Related Posts . . View 10 Replies .

A2c Files Downloaded As Zip Files

If you go to alice.org and try to download one of their image files, ie8 changes the extension from a2c to zip making the file unusable unless the user manually changes the file extension.

http://alice.org/index.php?Page=gallery/amusement park/index

In our school network users are not allowed to change the file extension so that does not work. I found that the user when downloading has to change the file type to all files and change the file extension then. This is a bother to have to remember. When i tried with a different browser (chrome) the a2c file was recognized correctly. The computers in my school are laptops running windows xp. At home my desktop runs windows 7 and the problem is there as well. There was no problem with ie7.


Posted On: 2010-01-16 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Docx Files Downloading As Zip Files

I am having an issue with docx files turning into zip files when i try and download them in ie8. I have done alot of research on this problem and have looked into the 2 main solutions to this problem: 1) set security settings to "open file based on file content, not file extension" to disable  2) check the mime type table on the web server and make sure the office 2007 extensions are added.

The first step i tried and the file was still trying to open as a zip file. The second one i was only able to ask the vendor because the web server does not belong to me, but the vendor said they were able to get the same exact docx file to download as a docx file and everyone on their end was able to. I am able to save the zip file and rename the file extension to docx and open it, but sadly this will not be an acceptable answer.

I've tried adding registry settings to allow it to open with docx files as well with no success.
I am curious if anyone has any other suggestions for me?


Posted On: 2010-04-14 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Install 32-bit Apps To Program-files Rather Than Program Files (x86)

On 64-bit win7, is it wrong to install 32-bit apps to (drive letter):program files rather than program files (x86)? If wrong should installer prevent this? If installer allows it, what app behavior is appropriate?

Background: winzip 14. 0 (a win7 compatible 32-bit app) won't run if installed to c:program files. If installed to any other alternate path or folder name it runs ok. By convention starting with vista, c:program files (x86) is for 32 bit apps and c:program files for 64-bit apps. But installers allow overriding the install path and folder name. e.g, maybe i want 32 bit apps in c:program files and 64 bit apps in c:program files (x64).

If c:program files is a restricted location for 32 bit apps, should not the installer and/or os enforce this, rather than allow installation then break the app? What is the correct practice for both users installing apps and developers porting apps to win7?


Posted On: 2009-12-11 . View Related Posts . . View 6 Replies .

Custom Install - Program-files And Program Files X86

Custom install from windows vista hp 32 bit to windows 7 hp 64 bit leave 2 program files - "program files" and "program files (x86). Mostly same files in either folder. If x86 is needed, i don't mind but why duplicate entries with items like windows mail. I tried to to delete program files x86 without any success, and i would like to delete system-32 files in the windows folder plus any other 32 bit related items, if possible.

I do not want a system with duplicate and redundant files. Because two items that i downloaded and installed appear in both program files, i'm suspending any further actions on the installation until i'm fortunate enough to receive some help and/or advice from this forum.


Posted On: 2009-10-30 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Difference - Program Files And Program Files(x86)

Why are there two program files on my new dell with windows 7 prof? Program files and program files(x86)? Is there a difference? What type of programs go in each?

Posted On: 2009-12-07 . View Related Posts . . View 9 Replies .

Error - There Are No More Files

Error message on trying to save on hard drive "there are no more files" can not save files from any program: word, excel, firefox. Tried regcure, tried chkdisk full scan for virus and malware no luck so far.

Posted On: 2010-06-19 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Cannot Delete Files

I just moved from a computer with vista to one with windows 7 (64-bit). In doing, i saved a bunch of emails on the old computer as files, then copied them (over a wireless network) to the new computer. The browser was firefox; the files are . Eml filetype. Now, i want to delete some.

I can't delete the individual files: 'delete' doesn't appear in the context menu, and i can't drag them to the recycle bin. However, i think i can delete the entire folder: 'delete' is in the folder's context menu, whether the folder is in the left or main pane. But i don't want to delete the entire folder.

Now this is what i really don't understand. I go the folder's properties, uncheck the read-only box (it's not checked, but solid color), hit 'apply' and 'ok, " i get a window and it's running through all the files. But when i go back to the folder's properties, the box is filled in again. The read-only box for the files is unchecked, but i still can't delete then.

I ran windows explorer as administrator, but it doesn't seem to matter. The 'full control' box is checked in properties. Details.

I even added a "no need to keep" subfolder. I can copy the . Eml files i no longer want to that folder, but not move them, which is what i want to do (to clean out the folder).

What should i do?


Posted On: 2010-02-07 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Saving Files

I am having trouble with window 7, saving files and other programs, i have to upgrade 3 other programs that i mostly use. Photo shop(new software)  gives me a message  about not turning off maximize compatibility and can't save files. Family tree won't let me save to pdf. Ordered new update. Way to much time wasted looking for help on the net and can't use explorer 8, as it won't allow me to view pictures in side my email. I have to use google chrome. This is a new pc i received less than two weeks ago.

Posted On: 2010-04-03 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Wtv Files

Folks, win7 records tv shows in this wtv format and has a built-in tool to convert them to dvr-ms format. I use ps3 media server and it doesn't recognize wtv yet so i have to convert. The problem is, wtv converter that comes with win7 starts the conversion process and then dies off after converting like 5-6 minutes of the show. How can i diagnose this problem? Would a codec pack cause this? Better yet, is there an alternative converter for wtv into whatever?

Posted On: 2010-03-02 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .