Advertisements:




Force Aero Tab Preview, Transparency


I am running windows 7 ultimate with dual-monitors and a high-end video card that is aero-capable. However, i run an additional monitor for background work that is connected to my computer viaa usb to vga converter. Upon connecting the converter aero tab preview, transparency and peek go away. I would like to have those aero features enabled, at least on the main monitors, with the usb to vga converter attached.

Running the aero troubleshooter indicates that wddm session manager was disabled, but corrected that problem (actually the wddm session manager is consistently reported as "started" so i'm not sure what the troubleshooter is telling me). I have read in other forums about a registry modification method (adding dwords to hkey_current_usersoftwaremicrosoftwindowsdwm) but this does not work.contacting the manufacturer of the converter, siig, did not result in any solutions.

So i am hoping that you can suggest amethod to force aero tab preview, transparency and peek even if the usb to vga converter does not meet aero hardware requirements.


View Full Post With 2 Replies

Related Forum Messages:

Please Follow Index to Quick Jump to the Message.


Aero Taskbar Thumbnails Not Displaying Preview

I recently purchased a new laptop with windows 7 running on windows 64-bit os. For some of the applications, the thumbnail previews on the taskbar work great (outlook, ie 8), but others do not. Whenever i open more than one file in an application, the thumbnail display only shows a rectangle with that application's logo in the middle of the box. Can anyone help me understand why this feature works for some applications, but not others, and how to fix this? I've tried all the standard remedies (choosing aero theme, etc. ) To no avail.

Posted On: 2010-01-27 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Peek Window Preview Flickering

Aero peek window previews flickering and when displayed not allowing window selection. When i hover my mouse over any of the icons in the task bar a lot of the time it will not display the aero peek previews for the windows. When it does it usually flickers for a few seconds then doesn't show up. The odd time it does stay visible it will allow me to preview the windows by bringing them to the foreground by hovering my mouse over one of the thumbnail windows but when i click to select a window it goes back to the one i was on previously.

In the case of multiple windows of the same type for instance say firefox and the download manager in firefox clicking on the firefox icon on the task bar does nothing until i navigate to and close one of the two windows manually. This has become a major problem with my day to day use of my computer so much so in fact that i have gone back to using linux mint for most of my day to day computing as it doesn't take me inordinate amounts of time to navigate between windows.


Posted On: 2010-01-08 . View Related Posts . . View 11 Replies .

Aero Peek / Title Preview Not Disappearing

I have following problem with windows 7: i have firefox opened. I hover mouse over task bar and window preview start displaying with window titles. I do not click at them, i click again into firefox window. Usually this results into latest taskbar application i hovered have its title displayed for around 5 seconds, then disappearing, and this application have its bar highlighted with main icon color (which is also not what i want). But sometimes window previews from latest hovered window just do not disappear until i press some keyboard button in firefox. This is quite annoying for me. Is this how it supposed to work? I expect taskbar to stop any highlighting and hide any preview windows when i click into main application window. I have latest drivers and fully updated system if that helps.

Posted On: 2010-03-07 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Aero Alt+tab Application Keeps Popping Up

I have a windows 7 professional system and for some reason the little window that comes up when you press alt+tab keeps popping up on its own. Whether i'm at my system working or i'm away from my system it keeps popping up on its own. I've tried reinstalling the drivers for my keyboard and mouse. I've made sure my system is up to date with all the latest updates but this problem keeps happening. I haven't been able to find more information about this anywhere, though i may be using the wrong search terms because i dont know what that alt+tab window is called. Keyboard/mouse i'm currently using is microsoft wireless laser desktop 6000 (v2 i think).

Posted On: 2010-07-22 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Transparency Issue

Okay so the last time i had an issue with taskbar, start menu, and window border transparency i was told to update my video card driver and see if that fixed the problem. Well, at the time it did fix the problem, but now any full screen program i use (ie: windows remote assistant & online games) changes my themes from aero (with the transparency) to windows basic (without transparency), and it wont let me change back. The only way to fix this that i have found is to keep restarting my computer whenever i want my computer themes to have transparency.

Is there a way to go through some of the settings in my computer and alter them so my themes don't change to windows basic or will at least give me the opportunity to change back to my aero themes?


Posted On: 2010-01-17 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Re Enable Taskbar And Window Transparency

I'm running windows 7 home premium on a brand new asus ul50a series notebook. This morning i got an "important" microsoft update message, and so i updated my laptop, rebooted, and noticed that my taskbar and window borders were no longer transparent. Before the update everything worked fine, but now this does not work. Everything, so far, works excellent except the transparency issue. I would like to find out how to fix this problem without having to do a system restore since i've already put a lot of important files onto my new laptop. Here are some screenshots of my not-correctly-working windows 7 personalize settings:

http://i607. Photobucket.com/albums/tt156/jamesbrad91/help.png

http://i607. Photobucket.com/albums/tt156/jamesbrad91/help2.png

Anyone know how to fix this, so i can pick my taskbar color and opacity settings?


Posted On: 2010-01-15 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Force Media Player To Display 16:9

Could you please add back the force aspect ratio settings for 4:3, 16:9 . Many videos from several of my video cameras were shot and encoded by different methods and compression settings, quite often i need to force the correct aspect ratio. I have noticed that many people are forced to use players such as vlc simply because they cannot force wmp 11 to display correctly i prefer using wmp 11 for playback as the decoders for audio and video appear to display and sound better than any of the other products such as vlc (poor with dolby encoded video).

Posted On: 2010-06-07 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Force Explorer.exe To Close

Whenever i try to close windows7 i get a message that explorer.exe is waiting to sound the exit sound and i have to force close everytime. Anyone know what this is about?

Posted On: 2010-03-31 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback Wheel Usb Problem

I have this ( microsoft sidewinder force feedback wheel usb) and i cant get it to work under windows 7. The green light on the wheel (force) is blinking and the force wont work.

Posted On: 2009-10-05 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Areo Preview Has Disappeared

My aero preview has disappeared. How do i get it back?

Posted On: 2010-01-17 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Taskbar Icon Preview Problems

I've got a problem with the w7 taskbar and i will try to explain it with an example. Let's say i have two folders open, a couple of docs, and 3-4 websites. Now if i do not remember which websites i have opened, i might just point the arrow to the internet explorer icon to see a preview. At that point the thumbnails should appear and stay fixed until i move somewhere else. In my case the preview lats for less than one second, they then disappear.

If i try again the preview will give the same result, just a short flash. As far as i know, as i have more that one pc with w7, when the arrow is on the icon, the aero preview should remain fixed, so i'll have time to decide which window i want to open and which i want to close. Unfortunately, now i cannot do that as the short flash/preview doesn't give me time to do anything, not even to understand what i have opened.
That of course does happen with all the icon in the taskbar.
I tried the troubleshooter, but without any success. Have you got any other solution in mind?
Many thanks for your help.


Posted On: 2010-04-02 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Upgrading From Preview Version Of Win7

I have two computers at home that are running the preview version of windows 7. I know that the shutdown window is approaching, so i'm trying to plan to upgrade these two machines to licensed versions.

My question is this: can i buy the upgrade for each machine? The circumstances for each are as follows: my laptop came with vista pre-installed. I have the key for vista, but the manufacturer did not provide a cd with the computer, so i have no disc to insert during the installation process to verify that i am entitled to an upgrade. The other computer is a self-built desktop for which i have both the cd and key for windows xp.

I guess my question really boils down to this: how does the upgrade installation for windows 7 verify that i am entitled to the upgrade version? Or does the fact that i'll be applying the upgrade over an in-place w7 preview installation even bother checking for a previous version for eligibility?


Posted On: 2010-01-15 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

No Preview Thumbnails For Avi Files

I'm using 64 bit windows 7. I'm creating some avi animations with the ultra fractal fractal exploration software. These avi files don't show thumbnail preview images in windows explorer, they just show a default image of a piece of film. It seems that if i edit my avi file into a wmv movie file using windows live movie maker, then i do see thumbnail images for the source avi files in windows explorer from then on. But i'd like to see the previews by default. Note that i do see preview thumbnails for most (but not all) files that are in the quicktime mov format. And i do see preview thumnails for all files in the mpg format. But not for the avi files.

Posted On: 2010-04-16 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Script Error - Ieframe.dll/preview.js

Each time i try to print i receive the error message:

Internet explorer script error: an error has occur ed in the script on this page
Line: 2032
Char: 1
Error: unspecified error
Code: 0
Url: res://ieframe.dll/preview.js

I am running ie8 on windows vista 32 bit. I've already tried the solutions i found listed in the answer forum. In addition, i've tried uninstalling & reinstalling, ie8, my printer, and the print drivers. I have been using ie8 for quite some time now & can't account for the recent trouble i'm having. Any suggestions?


Posted On: 2010-04-03 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Print Preview Error - Printing To Adobe Pdf

Print preview error - occurs when printing to adobe pdf print driver. I purchased a new computer with windows 7 pro. When i try to print a web page (ie 8) using print preview, "as selected on screen", shrink to 85%, then print to adobe pdf print driver, the ie 8 page got stuck. So i have to end task it all the time.
 
However, if i try it with different browsers, it prints with no problem. I tried sfc /scannow, checkdisk, disabling add-on programs, but did not work. Add/remove programs does not show ie 8, so i can not uninstall/reinstall it. Is there any way to install ie 8 fresh on windows 7 pro?


Posted On: 2010-06-22 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Open In New Tab Just Sticks

I can't seem to get a connection with "open in a new tab" and "open in a new window" doesn't work at all. This worked fine on vista but just did a full install of win7. I thought maybe norton was the problem and unistalled but problem is still going. Anyone else have this problem?

Posted On: 2009-11-30 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Tab For Recycle Bin

Can't see files in he recycle bin from drives other than c:all files deleted from the root drive c: can be seen in the recycle bin. Having multiple drives (local and networks), if you delete a file it goes to the recycle bin, but you can 't see. Steps taken. I can see all of my drives' recycle bin when i change view setting to show hidden files. What i can't do - not sure i should be able to do - is change the attribute settings on the recycle bin's to deselected hide file. Maybe that is what's missing. Any suggestions?

Posted On: 2010-07-29 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Solution To Alt Tab Not Working

This is not a question but a solution that took me about a month to find.consistently found alt tab to change programs would not work, and when i hovered over the taskbar at the bottom of the screen, the postage stamp image of the application would flash on once then disappear. Sometimes i could just not get an open application to maximize. Usually use my hp laptop at a workstation but when using it in another location noticed the problem had disappeared.

Figured there was something about the workstation. Tried back at the workstation and through a process of trial and error found it was a logitech skype usb speaker phone. It is a fairly old model - maybe 2007 - which i got as a freebee when i purchased a pc. It doesn't seem to like windows 7. Unplugged it and there is no further problem.


Posted On: 2010-04-26 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Classic Mode Using Alt+tab

I'm running win7 ultimate in the classic mode (the aero mode was just too much visual noise) and for years i've used the alt+tab to switch between applications. Starting with vista the contents of the pop-up alt+tab window sorts and does not retain the positions as it did in xp. Are there any settings that i can change to get the xp non-sorted window. With the darn sorting i find myself searching for the "the" window i want to bring to the foreground. I almost always have several applications running (10-20) and multiple windows within each application thus it is not uncommon that i will have 30-50 windows open when i'm researching a topic and attempting to create a document or presentation on the topic.

Posted On: 2010-02-12 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Power Management Tab Missing

I just reinstalled windows 7 home on my tablet pc, the hp tm2t. Since i switched my hdd to an ssd. However, as i'm setting the tablet pc's multitouch function so that it would be responsive after idle (before my reinstall, i could uncheck "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power"), i realized the power management tab in device manager isn't there anymore.

The item i'm looking for is under the human interface devices -> usb input device (it's not specified, but this device manages the multitouch for my tablet). I still see the power management tab for my wireless card, biometric devices (fingerprint reader) and some other usb root hubs. Does anyone else have the same problem? Or know a fix?


Posted On: 2010-04-30 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Access Denied On Drive - No Security Tab

I have a problem accessing one of my drives. I changed permissions on one of the folders on the drive in question. Now i can't access that drive at all. It says "access denied" when i click properties i don't have the security tab (on other drives, i do). I can't access my drive.

I'm using windows 7
I'm administrator
Uac is off for now.
I tried using other administrative accounts


Posted On: 2009-12-13 . View Related Posts . . View 5 Replies .

Tab On Bottom Bar Blinks But Will Not Open

Had the same problem yesterday and the driver wizard poped up, i thought it was from hp so i signed up for it, it has not solved the problem. I could not even finishes registering for it. Have tried to find the company to cancel out but cannot find it. Now i have that tab that i mentioned above blinking and it will not open.

Posted On: 2010-06-14 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Ie Keyboard Shortcut For Open Link In New Tab

The help file for internet explorer states that the keyboard shortcut for "open links in a new tab in the background" is "ctrl+click", yet last i looked "click" is not a key, it is a mouse activity. How does a non-mouse user (blind, physical disability) perform "ctrl+click", or rather, how does a non-mouse user open links in a new tab in the background?

Posted On: 2009-12-31 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .

Ie8 Change View Of New Tab Page

I did not manually change the appearance of what i view when i open a new tab. However, it was changed somehow. I want the view i was using back. Presently i see a blue screen with the following info: what do you want to do next?

Reopen closed tabs 
View tabs that you've closed since starting internet explorer.
 Ithelplive
 Msn.com
 Msn.com
 E-mail support
 Screensavers
 Info page
 Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
 Oncourse : gateway : welcomeopen all browse with inprivate

Browse the web without storing data about your browsing session. Open an inprivate browsing window
Use an accelerator open a web service with text that you've copied from a webpage. Show copied text use this text: blogger define with google dictionary gmail google finance google maps search with google translate with live search

Learn more about tabs and tab shortcuts, accelerators, and inprivate browsing before the change which happened without my participation (maybe on an update?) I viewed thumbnail pictures tiled on screen of my most frequently used websites. On the right were websites i recently visited. How do i get this screen back?


Posted On: 2010-06-04 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Folder / File Permissions In Properties Tab

I have a particular program that will not start because i do not have write permissions for the folder, sub-folders, and files associated with the program. Going to the properties tab reveals that the folder is read only. I uncheck the box but can't seem to make it a permanent change. It always comes back up as read only. I have gone into every imaginable edit/advanced tab possible and given permissions to every possible group i can think of, yet despite the fact that every kind of permission possible is enabled and visible, i still can't uncheck the read-only box permanently and i still get "you do not have write permissions" from the program. I have tried changing ownership, running as administrator, and yet no progress on this problem.

Posted On: 2010-02-24 . View Related Posts . . View 6 Replies .

Toolbar New_tab.html - Change New Tab Address

How do i change 'about:tab' back to 'toolbar:new_tab.html, for my new tabs. Can't get rid of 'about:tab' address for my new tabs. Don't like or want the page. Lost all my book marks; tried 'tools' drop down menu, tab settings, but it doesn't have the, 'toolbar:new_tab.html' option. Only allow blank page or home page setting changes. Tried to type: toolbar:new_tab.html on the address line and it jumps back to about:tab. Does somebody know how to change the new tab address?

Posted On: 2010-06-09 . View Related Posts . . View 3 Replies .

Stopping Pictures Collapse / Expand Tab In My Documents

I just want to know how to get rid of the my pictures collapse/expand tab in my documents as shown in the picture. How do i hide this tab without deleting it?

Posted On: 2012-01-28 . View Related Posts . . View 4 Replies .

Uninstall Ie8 Tab Missing In Add/remove List

I need to uninstall & reinstall ie8 on my pc running win xp/sp3. But on the add/remove programs list under ie8, the uninstall tab is missing. The reason that i need to uninstall is that ie 8 hangs every so often. It has been suggested to me that my problem might be caused by installing ie8 before installing sp3 after my pc was in for repairs. If this is what is causing the problem, should i uninstall sp3 and see if this allows me to then uninstall ie8? Or is there another fix for this issue?

Posted On: 2010-05-27 . View Related Posts . . View 6 Replies .

How To Set Margins In Apa Format In Reference Tab For Citations ?

How do you set the margins in apa format in reference tab for the citations. Only the citation margins. If the margins are set for the paper, the margins do not match for the paper? I need some help here? Or are citation margins hard coded so to speak?

Posted On: 2010-02-04 . View Related Posts . . View 2 Replies .